domain registration

The IEEE802.11 Regular and Its Protocols

by terhunetech on May 3, 2011

It had been in 1997 when the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) produced the regular for wireless nearby region networks (WLANs).

The regular grew to become recognized as IEEE802.11, with the 802.11 coming through the name of the group who oversaw its improvement. Under this standard are several protocols developed more than the many years.

Beneath is really a checklist of them.

1. 802.11

– also recognized as the Legacy protocol, this is the original protocol created in 1997. It operates at 2.4 GHz and includes a data price of one and two Mbit/s. Its assortment was restricted to twenty m and 100 m, in indoor and outdoor settings, respectively.

2. 802.11a

– was released in 1999. It operates at five GHz to maneuver away from the 2.4 GHz running frequency of the Legacy. Its range only offers a slight enhancement from its predecessor with a range of 35 m indoors and 120 m outside. It is, however, fast with a data rate of 54 Mbit/s.

3. 802.11b

– also released in 1999. Just like the Legacy, it operates at 2.4 GHz. It includes a somewhat greater assortment compared to 802.11a, but is slower. The b only includes a data rate of 11 Mbit/s.

4. 802.11g

– marries the characteristics with the a and the b. It includes a data price of 54 Mbit/s like a and has the same range because the b with 38 m indoors and 140 m outdoors. It had been released in 2003.

5. 802.11n

– is set to be released on June 2009. It can operate on both 2.4 or five GHz frequencies. It’s fast with a data rate of 248 Mbit/s and has an indoor selection of 70 m and up to 250 m outdoors.

Related posts:

  1. Security – I Think I’ve A Virus
  2. Apple Makes Partnership with Intel
  3. Selecting The Proper Monitor – A Buyers Guide
  4. Unix Signals
  5. Sluggish Computer Fix

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: